EVOLUTION

I wrote this over 10 years ago on a bus ride home from work. I was having a moment of oneness, imagining past, present and future lives, the way we all function & work together while passing time, how we’re all looking for meaning and imagining other planes and dimensions. This one of my favorite pieces that has come back around over the years and means more and more to me each time I read it. I hope you all enjoy it!


EVOLUTION
 by CJM

Beyond dreams is what I see
I live my life uncertainly
Since no one knows the reasons why
We’re born, we live and then we die
Answers hide as questions arise
And meanings fail to compromise

We breathe this air but still despair
We know we are here but not everyone cares
Big question marks above our heads
Some exclamations
Others walk dead

While I ask
Where is the past life I know that I lived?
What was I like when I was that other kid?

Visions of worlds unknown to us
A language of silence
Mental
Hush

Our world of water
Life of love
What’s really going on in the sky up above?

The human mind
We use such a small percent
Imagine the rest that we never spend

Where did it go?
I have to ask
But I can only live present through a distant past

I see those in life that don’t have a path
Their vision is foggy so they repeat the past
I’m glad that I chose the road that I have
For I try to live life with a full tank of gas

I see all the people and know that they try
I can’t stand to see anyone break down and cry
I see all of those that are right at the top
I know some are good
And others a crock

I try to see life and study its ways
I always play fair and work to get paid
I do what I can and I always give my best
Still I know they’ll be days when I may feel depressed

So I believe in my vision of a better place
I’ll do all I can to help speed the race
But it can’t be alone for all it takes
We must help one another and do it with grace
We can learn from each other, I know this is true
Should we want to succeed
Both me and you
Love and believe and some day you’ll see
This is what really helps us achieve

So come with me
And please don’t delay
Let us evolve
On a higher plane

6 comments

  1. Shelly · January 26, 2012

    Lovely. Brought tears to my eyes. You are so talented. I always tell you I’ll be proud to say “I knew him when…..”

    • CJs In Sight · February 8, 2012

      Thank you for not only being present in my life, but also for always being so supportive, Shelly, I love you!!

  2. greencheata · May 2, 2012

    Great poem!

    • CJs In Sight · September 19, 2012

      Thank you, greencheata, sorry for the late response.

  3. Pingback: I WANT TO START AN EVOLUTION! | CJ's In Sight
  4. honoringlight · September 25, 2013

    This is so in time with today. Love your writing.

Leave a Reply

